Skip to content

Our Staff

The Director and the Associate Director of the Office of Student Conduct & Community Standards serve as advisors to the Student Disciplinary Board, IFC Judicial Board, Panhellenic Judicial Board, and the Student Tribunal. They are responsible for ensuring that the disciplinary policies set forth in Hilltopics are observed and that student rights are protected. Additionally, the Director and Associate Director coordinate the investigation of cases and monitor students on disciplinary probation.


Betsy Brockman Smith, Director  

B.A., 2006 – Political Science & Sociology, The University of Tennessee

J.D., 2009 — Concentration in Advocacy and Dispute Resolution, The   University of Tennessee





Amanda Newman Samsel, Associate Director

B.S., 2004 – Political Science, Middle Tennessee State University

M.Ed., 2006 — Higher Education Administration, Middle Tennessee State University




Shalin Nandlal Shah, Coordinator 

B.S., 2014 – Political Science, The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

M.S. 2017 – College Student Personnel, The University of Tennessee





Bethany M. Vanhooser, Coordinator of Special Projects in the Office of VCSL

B.S., 2015 – Political Science and Economics, The University of Tennessee

M.S., 2016 – Master of Public Policy and Administration, The University of Tennessee



Student Conduct Assistants

Student Conduct Assistants are graduate assistants who work 20 hours per week in the Office of Student Conduct & Community Standards. Student Conduct Assistants investigate reports of student misconduct and conduct meetings with students who visit the Office of Student Conduct & Community Standards. Additionally, Student Conduct Assistants serve as student representatives and university representatives in disciplinary proceedings conducted before Student Disciplinary Boards and Academic Review Boards.


Shaun G. McComas

B.S.S.W 2016 – Social Work, The University of Tennessee

M.S.S.W 2017 Candidate – Social Work, The University of Tennessee





Sydney E. Scheiner

B.A., 2016 – Communications: Interpersonal Communications, The University of Delaware

M.S., 2018 Candidate – Master of College Student Personnel, The University of Tennessee





Support Staff


Margaret Taylor, Administrative Support Assistant III

B.F.A., 1988 – Graphic Design & Illustration, The University of Tennessee






Erin Favier, Administrative Support Assistant II

B.A., 2016 – Political Science, The University of Tennessee





Mararious Beals, Student Assistant

B.B.A in Marketing Candidate – The University of Tennessee


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.